Assessor reminds county taxpayers to return personal property assessment forms
Wednesday, February 22, 2012
The Moniteau County Assessor would like to remind personal property owners to return the form for listing personal property for the 2012 assessment year.
By March 1, 2012, every owner or holder of personal property was to report, on the form provided by the assessor, all taxable personal property. This includes cars, trucks, trailers, farm equipment and livestock, etc. which was owned or held by the person or business on Jan. 1, 2012.
"Every year a few property owners forget to return, or lose their list," King said. "So, we make every attempt to remind people to return the form on time."
Not returning a completed list to the assessor by the deadline makes a property owner subject to a penalty. To avoid this penalty, bring in the form that was sent to property owners in January as soon as possible.
"We are given just a few days window before we are required to start adding the penalty, and the penalities can range from $10 to $100 depending on the value of the property and the statutes provide the assessor with almost no discretion to waive the penalties," King said.
Missouri Revised Statutes states it the responsibility of property owners to report even if they did not receive a form in the mail. If you moved into the county before Jan. 1, 2012, or for some reason did not receive a form, you are not excused from filing.
The assessor's office may be contacted for a blank form by calling 573-796-4637, or stop by the Courthouse. The address is Moniteau County Courthouse, 200 East Main, California, Missouri 65018.
More like this story
- Moniteau County Assessor reminds county taxpayers to return personal property assessment forms
- Assessor reminds county taxpayers to return personal property assessment forms
- Moniteau County Assessor Reminds County Taxpayers to Return Personal Property Assessment Forms
- New personal property tax forms in the mail
- Callaway County mails new personal property tax forms