California, MO 86° View Live Radar Thu H 18° L 7° Fri H 24° L 9° Sat H 34° L 29° Weather Sponsored By:

Don't forget general municipal election day Tuesday, April 5

Don't forget general municipal election day Tuesday, April 5

March 30th, 2011 in News

Some races are heavily contested for the general municipal election Tuesday, April 5. The election includes school boards, city offices, fire districts, ambulance districts and water districts as well as local and county issues.

With three seats up for election on the California R-I School Board and nine candidates, including the three Board members already holding those seats, it could be a tight race. Candidates are Scott Sapp, Mike Lutz, Craig Ash, Nathan Dalbey, Darryl Elliott, Steven Burger and Keith Jones, Tammy Roberts and Jeremy Burger. The positions up for election are currently held by Lutz, Ash and Burger.

For the City of California, candidates for Mayor are Norris Gerhart, Charles Roll and Kathi Swearingen. Only one candidate is on the ballot for City of California Board of Aldermen from each ward. The vote for City Collector will be write-in.

Non-municipal elections for April include Mid-Mo Ambulance District and Good Shepherd Nursing Home District.

One member of the Mid-Mo Ambulance District Board of Directors from District I is up for election. No one filed for that seat, therefore it will be filled by a write-in vote. This is a three-year term.

One member of the Good Shepherd Nursing Home District Board of Directors, Sub-District No. 3, will be selected. The two candidates on the ballot for the three-year term are Robin S. Vogt and Amanda Huffman.

Clarksburg has Proposition I on the ballot.

Proposition I

Shall the boundaries of the California Rural Fire Protection District be extended to include the following described property?

The area within the corporate limits of the City of Clarksburg, further described as the Northwest Quarter (NW 1/4); the North Half (N 1/2)of the Southwest Quarter (SW 1/4), the West Half (W 1/2) of the Northeast Quarter (NE 1/4) and the Northwest Quarter (NW 1/4) of the Southeast Quarter (SE 1/4), all of Section 15, Township 45, Range 16, Moniteau County, Missouri.