California, MO 71° View Live Radar Fri H 74° L 59° Sat H 80° L 64° Sun H 86° L 68° Weather Sponsored By:

CHS softball teams wrap up season with banquet

CHS softball teams wrap up season with banquet

November 14th, 2012 in News

The annual California High School Softball Banquet was held Nov. 6 at the high school commons, where the varsity and JV softball players, coaches, family and friends gathered to reflect on the 2012 season.

Following a carry-in meal, CHS Head Coach Jack Lake and Assistant Coach Dwight Fitzwater recognized each of the athletes for their individual achievements throughout the season.

Fitzwater presented the following JV awards: Taylor Zimmerman and Jackie Gammon each received the Most Improved JV Player Award, and Jordyn Simmons received the Most Team Spirit Award.

Lake presented the following varsity awards: Tiffany Carel received the Most Team Spirit Award, and Top Hitter Award; Alayna York, Team Leader Award and MVP (Most Valuable Player); Madelyn Jobe, Hustle Award; Erica Volkart, Most Improved Varsity Player; and Jessica Hughes, Best Defensive Player Award.

Lake also presented letters to the following letter winners: Jamie Earnheart, Tayler Bonecutter, Kayla Wilcox, Miranda Messerli, Madi Simmons, Shelby Thomason, Lindsey Schepers, Jenna Reynolds, Kaylee Vanloo, Jobe and Volkart.

Lake concluded the night by thanking those contributed to the season, including Evelyn Jobe, who was in charge of concessions; Lori York, who helped organize Senior Night; Randall Hughes and Scott Volkart, who helped with statistics; KRLL and the California Democrat, for covering CHS softball.

Lake also thanked his wife Debra for her support throughout the season, and Coach Fitzwater for his help with the softball teams as well as his support.

California ended the 2012 season with a 3-2 loss to Osage in the opening round of the Class 3 District 10 Tournament Oct. 3 at Wardsville. Five Lady Pintos earned All-District honors. Carel and York were named to the first team of the Class 3 All-District softball teams, while Jobe, Hughes and Amanda Karbinas were each named to the second team.