California, MO 75° View Live Radar Sat H 91° L 67° Sun H 93° L 69° Mon H 93° L 69° Weather Sponsored By:

Annual Clyde Wood Memorial held at Double-X

Annual Clyde Wood Memorial held at Double-X

July 31st, 2013 in News

The Speedway Motors Warrior Region made a third appearance of the 2013 season at the Double-X Speedway, California, Sunday night for the 11th Annual Clyde Wood Memorial. Mary Kay and Felicia Wood, Clyde's widow and granddaughter, followed tradition by presenting trophies. Clyde's great-nieces, Courtney and Emma Pettigrew, sang the National Anthem, while Clyde's son Roy Wood hosted and served as Director of Competition at the annual event. The invocation was given by Warrior pilot Curtis Boyer, New Haven.

With nearly a full house of fans and an over-flowing pit area, Jay Russell, Elwood, Kan., drove into victory lane for the first time this season in the ASCS Warrior Region feature. Points leader Jonathan Cornell, Sedalia, placed second, followed by Nixa's Kyle Bell, Wright City's Adam Jones, and California's Tyler Blank, respectively. Heat races were won by Cornell, Benton's Tim Crawley and California's Tyler Elliott.

California's John Clancy Jr. won the Street Stock feature, followed by Jefferson City's Jerry Unger, Henley's Jason Russell, Tuscumbia's Dale Berry and Jefferson City's Curt Turpin, respectively. Heat races were won by Tebbetts' Ted Welschmeyer and Unger.

Gage Wineland, Syracuse, won the Hobby Stock feature. Sedalia's Will Register finished second; Windsor's Chuck Coffey, third; Mike Schrader, Sedalia, fourth; and California's A.J. Wirts, fifth. Heat races were won by Wineland and Sedalia's Kevin Prall.

The 600cc Micro feature was won by Mexico's Cole Campbell. Rounding out the top five were Aryton Gennetten, Versailles; Drew Shiveley, Columbia; Scott Hathman, Columbia; and Marshall's Nick Schafer. Heat races were won by Hathman and Campbell.

Action at the Double-X Speedway will continue Sunday, Aug. 4, with four classes of competition. Check out the Speedway on Facebook or at Mark your calendars for Saturday, Aug. 10, for the 2013 season finale, which includes the last point race, awards, and the powder puff and mechanics races.