California, MO 79° View Live Radar Wed H 86° L 65° Thu H 86° L 66° Fri H 89° L 67° Weather Sponsored By:

CHS Music Awards Banquet held May 9

CHS Music Awards Banquet held May 9

May 14th, 2013 in News

Among those recognized at the Music banquet as top choir and band members are, from left, Abby Lueckenotte, Morgan Henley, Alondra Garcia and Alex Pace.

Photo by David Wilson

The California R-I Music Awards Banquet was held Thursday, May 9, at the High School Commons.

Following the meal, Jim Helmig, band director, recognized outstanding instrumental students and vocal instructor Michele Bilyeu recognized the outstanding students in the vocal music program. Both presented to the music department students awards, medals and plaques as well as letters and bars representing lettering for an additional year.

The top members of Sounds of Joy are Ana Strickfaden and Alex Pace. In addition the John Phillip Sousa Award was presented to Tristan Opperman and the Louis Armstrong Award was presented to Brandon Embry. The National School Choral Awards were presented to Alex Pace and Jordan Brizendine.

The Music Awards banquet is held each year near the end of the school year with friends and family invited.