California, MO 57° View Live Radar Tue H 72° L 49° Wed H 61° L 40° Thu H 68° L 46° Weather Sponsored By:

Moniteau County SWCD awards presented at annual dinner

Moniteau County SWCD awards presented at annual dinner

April 16th, 2014 in News

Sixth grader Makayla Schanzmeyer with her overall sixth grade winning poster.

Recognition was given to poster contest winners, area residents, employees and board members at the Moniteau County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) annual awards dinner Tuesday, April 9, at the California United Church of Christ facility,

Nancy Kirby presented the welcome and gave the introductions. Bruce Longan presented the SWCD update and Acting District Conservationist Mark Brandt the NRCS update.

Information on rural crime was presented by Sheriff J. Gump and Drug Task Force Detective L.E. "Jake" Fischer.

Gump said law enforcement officers need the help of the citizens in preventing and solving crimes. If a strange vehicle is seen in the area, "take down the license number," Gump said.

The car may be innocently in the area, but if a crime, such as theft or burglary, is discovered a few days later, that number could help solve the crime.

"Don't hesitate to call," Gump said.

Fischer said Missouri ranks very high on methamphetamine production in the country. Speaking of the latest way of making meth, he said the "one pot" method uses a one liter bottle, the remains of which are found in ditches everywhere. The bottle is usually partly melted down, looking as if it was in a brush fire. Although it is probably not producing anything as it lays there, even running over it with a tractor tire can start the chemical reaction of the salt and drain cleaner up again.

"It's the same gas the Nazi's used in the gas chambers," he said.

Winners of the 2013 Poster Contest were recognized. The theme for the year is "Where Does Your Water Shed?"

Of the fifth grade poster entries, winners were Hailey Schepers, Olivia Bahr, Makayla Schanzmeyer, Leah Drummond, all of California; Brent Long, Clarksburg; Layne Volkart, High Point; Kylie Wagner, Jamestown; Harley Miller, Latham; Abigail Alarcon and Kayleigh Kruse, both of Tipton; and Alexa Jurgensmeyer, St. Andrew's School, Tipton; and Amanda Martin, Spring Hill.

The overall fifth grade winner was Makayla Schanzmeyer.

Sixth grade poster winners were Diana Corona, Kent Riley, Grace Henley, Jordon Geiser, Nicholas Althoff, all of California; Daisy Gonzalez, Clarksburg; Cammi Muzy, High Point; Chiane Harlan, Jamestown; Breanna Gunnerson, Latham; Kaley Wilbers and Jackson Barbour, both of Tipton; Gage Claas, St. Andrew's School, Tipton; and Christopher Stauffer, Spring Hill.

The overall sixth grade winner was Daisy Gonzalez.