News Education Sports Obits Events Contests Classifieds Autos Jobs Search

Four Mid-Missourians filed this week — before Tuesday's 5 p.m. deadline — as candidates in state legislative races.

And a Libertarian added his name to the statewide auditor's race.

Races for the Aug. 7 primary election and, in some cases, the Nov. 6 general election, have been set with the close of the state filing period.


Incumbent Nicole Galloway, D-Columbia — who was appointed auditor in April 2015, after Republican Tom Schweich committed suicide — has no primary challenger.

However, in November, she will face Libertarian Sean O'Toole, of Kansas City, who filed Tuesday; Green Party candidate Don Fitz, of St. Louis; Constitution Party challenger Jacob Luetkemeyer, of California; and the winner of a four-way Republican race involving Kevin M. Roach, of Chesterfield, David Wasinger, of St. Louis County, Paul Curtman, of Washington, and Saundra McDowell, of Jefferson City.


No new races were set this week in contests for Mid-Missouri districts in the U.S. House.

Incumbent Blaine Luetkemeyer, R-St. Elizabeth, faces a primary challenge for the 3rd District House seat from Chadwick Bicknell, of Arnold — with the winner facing Democrats Katy Geppert, of St. Louis, and John Kiehne, of St. Albans; and Libertarian Donald V. Stolle, of Arnold.

In the 4th District, incumbent Republican Vicky Hartzler, of Harrisonville, has a primary challenge from John Webb, of Cleveland, with the winner earning the right to face Democrats Renee Hoagenson and Hallie J. Thompson, both of Columbia; and a Libertarian pair, Steven Koonse, of Leeton, and Mark Bliss, of Warrensburg.


Jefferson City Republican Mike Bernskoetter has no primary opponent in his bid for the 6th District State Senate seat now held by Mike Kehoe, who is term-limited.

Democrat Mollie Kristen Freebairn, of Jefferson City, filed for the race Monday, joining Bryan Struebig, of Eldon, and Nicole Thompson, of Jefferson City, in a three-way primary battle, with the winner facing Bernskoetter and Libertarian Steven Wilson, of Jefferson City.

The district serves Cole, Gasconade, Maries, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan and Osage counties.

In the 10th District, serving Callaway, Audrain, Lincoln, Monroe, Montgomery and Warren counties, incumbent Jeanie Riddle, R-Holts Summit, has no primary opponent, but will face Democrat Ayanna Shivers, of Mexico, in November.


The 60th House District, serving most of Jefferson City, has two primary contests.

Three Republicans — Jane Beetem, Pat Rowe Kerr and Dave Griffith — face each other in August, with the winner meeting the winner of the primary battle between Democrats Kevin A. Nelson and Sara Michael.

Incumbent Jay Barnes, R-Jefferson City, is term-limited, and didn't file for any other race.

Rik Combs, of Lohman, on Tuesday joined the GOP primary for the 59th House District to succeed Bernskoetter in representing parts of Cole and Miller counties. The five-candidate race involves Combs and Karen Leydens, of Jefferson City, Rudy L. Veit, of Wardsville, Kendra Lane, of Jefferson City, and Randy Dinwiddie, of Olean.

The winner will face Linda Ellen Greeson, D-Eldon, who has no primary opponent.

Incumbent Travis Fitzwater, R-Holts Summit, in November will face Lisa Buhr, D-Holts Summit, who filed on the last day, for the district that serves parts of Callaway and Cole counties.

Incumbent Sara Walsh, R-Ashland — who beat Democrat Michela Skelton, of Columbia, in a special election last August — again will face Skelton in the November general election for the 50th House District, which serves parts of Moniteau, Cole, Cooper and Boone counties.

Incumbent David Wood, R-Versailles, has no primary or general election opponents for the 58th House District in Moniteau and Morgan counties.

Incumbent Justin Alferman, R-Hermann, faces a November challenge from Pamela A. Menefee, D-Washington, for the 61st House District serving parts of Osage, Franklin and Gasconade counties.

Incumbent Tom Hurst, R-St. Thomas, faces a November challenge from Ashley D. Fajkowski, D-Rolla, to represent the 62nd House District in parts of Osage, Maries, Miller, Cole, Gasconade, Phelps and Crawford counties.

Incumbent Rocky Miller, R-Osage Beach, will meet Steve Dakopolos, D-Gravois Mills, in November, after Dakopolos filed on the last day. The 124th House District serves parts of Miller and Camden counties.


There's no primary contest, but voters in Boone and Callaway counties will choose in November between Republican Brouck Jacobs and Democrat Finley Gibbs, both of Columbia, for the 13th Circuit-Division 1 judge's job.

Four area circuit judges drew no opponents for either the August primary or November general elections:

Jon Beetem, R-Jefferson City, 19th Circuit, Cole County.

Kevin Crane, R-Columbia, 13th Circuit-Division 3 in Boone and Callaway counties.

Craig E. Hellmann, R-Washington, 20th Circuit in Osage, Gasconade and Franklin counties.

Matt Hamner, R-Osage Beach, 26th Circuit in Moniteau, Morgan, Miller, Camden and Laclede counties.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.