News Education Sports Obits Events Contests Classifieds Autos Jobs Search
story.lead_photo.caption Democrat photo/Paula TredwayThis year’s outstanding club award went to the Eager Eagles of Jamestown.

Moniteau County youth involved in area 4-H chapters began the second half of October with an afternoon of recognition for their efforts over the past year.

The Moniteau County 2020 4-H Recognition was Sunday at the Jamestown Community Building.

The gathered group started off its event by recognizing Charlie Cary, who was presented the 2020 Pam Jones Volunteer award.

"Charlie got a start learning about country hams while working with Harold Clennin before coming to work with Burgers' (Smokehouse)," Elaine Anderson, University of Missouri Extension 4-H Youth Specialist, said. "He has always been willing to help kids and families that take an interest in curing hams. He has been a longtime advocate for 4-H and FFA youth programs in Central Missouri and has donated a tremendous amount of time and knowledge to improving 4-H projects for hundreds of kids. Moniteau County is blessed to have Charlie's involvement with 4-H youth programs and efforts in supporting cured meats projects."

Next was the Friend of 4-H award, which was given to 5 C's Custom Processing for helping Moniteau County 4-H by processing animals that were sold and slicing hams for buyers who requested it.

The group then moved into recognizing the youth who took the time to fill out project record forms, receiving $10 for their efforts. Members who completed them are Isabelle Allen, Sophia Allen, Clara Baepler, Emma Baepler, Sarah Baepler, Jackson Baer, Madeline Baer, Tyler Baer, Zoey Borts, Mila Campbell, Macklin Campbell, Dane Thomas Fisher, Rhett David Fisher, Wade Henry Fisher, Colby Fosnow, Sonya Grojian, Brayden Hallford, Caleb Howard, Keeley Klund, Isabelle McNay Lund, Addison McQuaide, Ginna Meisenheimer, Olivia Meisenheimer, Kayden Sanders, Karter Sanders, Chase Schlup, Halle VanSteenburgh and Raylyn Wilfong.

Missouri Report forms help document how a youth grows within 4-H. The Clover Kids who filled out their forms are Kinley King, Caton Wilfong, Callie Sanders and Milayna Meisenheimer. The level 1 members are Keeley Klund, Wade Fisher, Jackson Baer, Caleb Howard, Dane Fisher, Colby Fosnow, Kayden Sanders, Emily King, Zoey Borts, Karter Sanders and Isabel McNay Lund. Level 2 members are Rhett Fisher, Addison McQuaide, Raylyn Wilfong, Brayden Hallford and Olivia Meisenheimer. And finally, level 3 members are Madeline Baer, Ginna Meisenheimer, Tyler Baer and Chase Schlup.

Though the ongoing coronavirus pandemic did take a toll on area 4-H events, county youth were able to participate in a few. Up first is Move Across Missouri, where Rhett Fisher, Wade Fisher, Dane Fisher and Brayden Hallford participated. Brayden Fisher won Move Across Missouri with 17,895 minutes.

Moniteau County 4-H groups were also able to hold a Day Camp at the Moniteau County Fairgrounds, where members enjoyed fun activities and a guest speaker.

Members also participated in a State Fair banner contest, where aspects of designs from Sonya Grotjan, Caleb Howard and Lidia Pringer were chosen.

This year, 39 Blue Ribbon projects were sent to the State Fair: Isabella Allen, Clara Baepler, Emma Baepler, Sarah Baepler, Zoey Borts, Emily Burger, Kyla Combs, Wade Fisher, Julianna Gardner, Sonya Grotjan, Brayden Hallford, Kelsie Henderson, Natalie Henderson, Kinley Higgins, Adler Koestner, Eleanor Martin, Madison McCord, Addison McQuaide, Hadley Milligan, Kya Peck, Treagan Porter, Karter Sanders, Kayden Sanders, Halle VanSteenburgh and Raylyn Wilfong.

There was also a State Shooting Sports Contest, where Sarah Baepler from Eager Eagles participated in Air Pistol and Julianna Gardner from Twin City participated in Archery 300.

Next, 4-H was able to give out a few scholarships this year. Jenna Berendzen was the winner of the $500 Fowler and Viola Smith Young Memorial. The Moniteau County 4-H Council also gave Keegan Borts and Jenna Berendzen $500 scholarships and Emily Niemeier a $250 scholarship.

The group then recognized the 4-H Council Officers, with Nicole Hallford as president, Jennifer McCord as vice president, Emily Fosnow as secretary and Diane Mathews as treasurer. They also recognized their club leaders: Jo Cox, Emily Fosnow, Tricia Meisenheimer, Morgan Fulks, Nicole Hallford, Lori Heather, Michelle Wilfong, Gary Baer, Stephanie Lawson, Gerri Howard and Stacey Kusgen.

The group ended its event with Individual County Awards. Up first was the Outstanding Younger Members: Colby Fosnow and Dane Fisher. Next was Outstanding 8-10 year old Wade Fisher; Outstanding 11-13 year old members Rhett Fisher, Brayden Hallford and Raylyn Wilfong; Outstanding Club Leaders Tricia Meisenheimer and Emily Fosnow; and finally, Outstanding Club, going to Eager Eagles.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.