News Education Sports Obits Events Contests Classifieds Autos Jobs Search
story.lead_photo.caption Photo courtesy of Carol WirtsWith his ninth Double-X victory of the season, Tyler Blank claimed the title of 2019 Double-X 360 winged sprint point champion. Blank is pictured with team members as well as race sponsor, Officer Jim Clark, of Central Missouri Security Services, and Double-X Directory A.J. Wirts.

The final night of the 2019 season of Sunday Night Thunder at Double-X Speedway saw a large field of Winged Sprint Cars on hand to try and take the $2,000 winners share, brought to them by Central Missouri Security Services, LLC. Twenty-two cars and drivers in the winged sprint division signed in for the evening's competition.

Heat race action started the evening, with the Street Stocks taking to the track for two races. In heat race number one, Brandon Dunham claimed the win with teammate Brandon Hays in second place, Justin McDowell in third, and Dale Berry in fourth place. Heat race two saw John Clancy picking up the win over Joe Miller, who finished in second, Marshall Berry in third place, and John Brooks in fourth place.

The Hobby Stock division also had two heat races on the card. In heat one, Mike Schrader dispatched early leader John Canada on lap two and raced to victory. Canada was second, Jeremiah Wallingford was third, Bobby Chilton was fourth, Karen Johnson was fifth, and Kevin Prall finished in sixth place. The second heat saw Kyle Smith take the early lead and hold off the challenges of Dakota Girard. Girard would finish in a close second place, Chuck Coffey was right behind him as he finished in third, Matt Barnett finished fourth, and Josh Clark finished in fifth place.

Three winged sprint car heat races were needed to set the lineup. In heat race number one; Miles Paulus moved from his outside front row starting position and did not look back. Ayrton Gennetten would place second, Cody Baker placed third, Kyle Bellm placed fourth, with Zach Daum in fifth followed by Riley Kreisel in sixth, Jeff Wingate in seventh, and Scott Comstock in eighth place. The second heat saw some slightly aggressive starts make for the necessity of restarts, and would see Ben Brown and Nathan Ryun retire to the pit area before a lap was completed. The third restart saw Randy Martin contact Taylor Walton because of a traffic jam coming out of turn four. Martin would retire to the pit area. Jonathan Cornell, in his first visit to Double-X this season, looked impressive in picking up the heat race victory. Walton would finish in second after changing the right front after the earlier contact on start number one. Brad Ryun was third, Brown was fourth, Broc Elliott was fifth, Martin was sixth, and Nathan Ryun finished in seventh place. The third heat saw Tyler Blank picking up the win over Evan Martin, who finished in second, Tyler Utz in third, Lanny Carpenter in fourth, Jarmin Dalitz in fifth, Frank Brown in sixth, and Timmy Smith was credited with seventh after running a strong second but spinning in turn four heading for the checkered flag.

After intermission, which saw a special racing sign contest hosted by Hobby Stock driver Kevin Prall and his wife Joni award an autographed racing helmet to a lucky and creative young race fan, it was time for the feature events. The street stocks took to the clay first, and John Clancy wasted no time moving to the front. Brandon Dunham settled into second place with Joe Miller in third and Marshall Berry quickly moving into fourth. One lap at a time was the norm for the first four laps, as a series of cautions for various drivers spinning out slowed the pace. On the lap five restart, laps started clicking by with John Brooks being the car on the move from the rear of the field. The remaining ten laps ran off without a caution and Clancy picked up the win in convincing fashion.

The Hobby Stock feature saw Mike Schrader and Kyle Smith on the front row. After running side by side for the opening lap, Schrader would move to the front. The caution would wave on lap two as Smith would run out of room while racing hard with Dakota Girard and make contact with the outside wall on the back straightaway. Once back underway, Schrader continued at the point, until lap eight when Girard used the high side to make the pass and continue on to the checkered flag. Chuck Coffey finished in second after a late race pass, Mike Schrader finished third, Matt Barnett finished fourth, John Canada finished fifth, Bobby Chilton finished sixth, Karen Johnson finished seventh, Jeremiah Wallingford finished eighth, Kyle Smith finished ninth, Kevin Prall finished 10th, and Josh Clark was unable to make the green flag.

The final event of the night was the $2,000 to win winged sprint car feature. Jonathan Cornell took the lead at the drop of the green with Miles Paulus and Tyler Blank close behind. Cornell would open a comfortable lead, but Blank would make his way into second and begin to reel in the leader. On lap 18, Blank would use a slide job in turn four to take the lead and would not be challenged for the remainder of the event. Cornell would finish in second, Paulus claimed third place, Ayrton Gennetten finished fourth, Evan Martin finished fifth, Taylor Walton finished in sixth place, Kyle Bellm finished in seventh place, Cody Baker finished in eighth place, Brad Ryun finished in ninth place, Zach Daum finished in 10th place, Lanny Carpenter finished in 11th place, Tyler Utz finished in 12th place, Nathan Ryun finished in 13th place, Jeff Wingate finished in 14th place, Ben Brown finished in 15th place, Timmy Smith finished in 16th place, Broc Eilliot finished in 17th place, Scott Comstock finished in 18th place, Jarman Dalitz finished in 19th place, Frank Brown finished in 20th place, Riley Kreisel finished in 21st place (DNS), and Randy Martin finished in 22nd place (DNS).

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.