Breaking:Flood warnings issued for two Mid-Missouri rivers
News Education Sports Obits Events Contests Classifieds Autos Jobs Search
story.lead_photo.caption California's Tyler Blank won his fourth race in a row. Blank is pictured with crew members of his 360 winged sprint with girlfriend Kelsey Brauner to his left. Meghan Sumner of Versailles presents the trophy aided by Double-X Director A.J. Wirts. (Courtesy of Carol Wirts)

The featured event on the card at the "Little Dirt Track at the Edge of Town" were the B Modifieds on June 2.

In a nod to "Getting Back to our Roots" at Double-X in 2019, modified cars competed at the speedway for the first two seasons as a weekly class. A true gathering was on tap as drivers from across the state came to challenge the quarter-mile clay.

Two heat races would set the feature lineup in all divisions on the evening. In the Super Stock Division, leading off, was John Clancy picking up the win over Dakota Girard and Brandon Hays. The second heat saw Dale Berry lead green to checker in taking the win over Joe Miller and Collin Parmer. In the Hobby Stocks, the first heat saw Rick Girard pick up the win over Chuck Coffey and Jeremiah Wallingford. After a wild first lap ended with a safety caution, a second failed attempt led to the third time being the charm. Kyle Smith took his Mopar to the front and covered the field with Girard in second and Kevin Prall in third.

The featured class of B Modifieds contested the third set of heat races for the evening. Cody Brill put his car on the top shelf against the cushion and picked up the win. Adam Hall charged from sixth to finish in second, and Dayton Newell was third. Heat two saw Chad Staus pick up the win over Mitchell Franklin, who finished in second place, and Cole Campbell finished in third; 360 Winged Sprints rounded out the heat race portion of the evening. In heat one, Riley Kreisel made a strong pass over Ben Brown to take the lead on lap one. A lap three caution brought the field to his rear bumper with Tyler Blank in third. One lap later, Blank was in second and hunting the lead. Kreisel was able to run the cushion and pick up the win; Blank finished in second, and Ben Brown finished in third place. Heat two saw Taylor Walton on the pole with Broc Elliott joining him on the front row. Walton rode the low groove to victory, edging Ayrton Gennetten by half a car at the stripe. Kyle Bellm finished in third place.

The Super Stock Feature saw John Clancy and Dale Berry starting on the front row, and Berry would take the early lead by running the top. Clancy would challenge on the bottom, and Joe Miller was right behind Berry in third. A lap two caution bunched the field and lined them up single file behind the leaders. On the restart, another yellow collected four cars. Collin Parmer would retire on the hook to the pit area. On the restart, Miller wasted no time moving to the front of the field. Dakota Girard settled into second with the rest of the field scrambling for position on the track. Brandon Hays made his way into third with four laps remaining the running order stayed the same. Miller put the number 409 in victory lane for the second time this season at Double-X. Following Miller under the checkered flag was Girard in second place. Clancy finished in third, Evan Hays was fourth, and Mark Davis finished in fifth place. Hays ended up in sixth place, John Ketterer was seventh, Tyler Blank was eighth, Dale Berry was ninth, Kyler Girard was 10th, and Parmer finished in 11th place.

In the Hobby Stock class, Rick Girard and Kyle Smith brought the field to the green flag and Smith jumped to the lead. Girard would spin out in turn two bringing out a caution. On the restart, Chuck Coffey would outduel Smith to lead lap one before Smith would take the lead on lap two. A red flag came out on lap four as John Canada hit the inside barrier in turn one. He was checked out by medical personnel as a precaution. On the restart, mechanical gremlins hit the number 171 of Coffey and the number 0 of Dakota Girard, both losing rear wheels on the same lap bringing out another caution. Smith brought them to green with a misfire in his engine, allowing Mike Schrader to take over the top spot with Rick Girard challenging. On lap nine, Rick Girard passed for the lead. At the checkered, it was Rick Girard in first place, Matt Smith finishing second in his first night at the track; Mike Schrader held on for third. Rounding out the field were Kyle Smith in fourth place, Dakota Girard in fifth place, Chuck Coffey in sixth place, Josh Clark in seventh place, Chris Kammerich in eighth place, John Canada in ninth place, Jeremiah Wallingford in 10th place, and Kevin Prall in 11th place.

B Mod Mania was the next feature on the track; 15 laps to win $500. Heat race winners Cody Brill and Chad Staus were on the front row. At the drop of the green, Staus used the high line to take the advantage with Brill staying right with him on the low side. Behind the leaders, the action was also quite intense with Mitchell Franklin, Cole Campbell and Adam Hall racing hard in the top five. Repeated spins by the number 88R of Robin Showers slowed the field. When racing resumed, Staus was still at the point with Brill racing him hard for the lead. With five laps remaining, the running order remained the same with Campbell venturing to the high side to try to advance at the same time Brill tried the top also. At the checkered flag, Staus earned the victory by keeping his drive on the bottom flawless. Brill earned a hard-fought second; Franklin was in third place, Campbell was fourth and Adam Hall finished in fifth place. Dalton Newell finished in sixth place, Donnie Jackson was seventh, Tyler Wood was eighth, Leroy Morrison was ninth, and Cale Turner finished in 10th place. Richard Brainard finished in 11th place, Don Randall finished in 12th place, and Chris Brockway completed the field in 13th place.

Next up were the 360 Winged Sprint Cars. For the feature event, youth started at the front with Riley Kreisel and Taylor Walton on the point. After two consecutive yellow flags, one for Mackenzie Borcher and the second for Kreisel, it became the Walton and Tyler Blank show at the front of the field. With Walton using the bottom and Blank following on the restart, it took Blank going lower than Walton in turn one on lap six to take the lead. Ayrton Gennetten would pass Walton on lap seven to move into the number two spot. A lap 10 caution negated a pass by Gennetten for the lead, resetting the field with Blank, Gennetten, Walton, Bellm and Kreisel in the top five. Over the remaining laps, Blank would keep his car as straight as possible in the corners to maintain the lead. A slip over the top of turn four for Genetten on lap 20 would let Bellm move into second. At the checkered, Blank picked up the victory; Bellm was second, Gennetten finished third, Taylor Walton finished in fourth place, and Ben Brown finished in fifth place. Broc Elliott finished in sixth place, Mackenzie Borchers was in seventh place, Lanny Carpenter was in eighth place, Samuel Wagner was in ninth place, and Timmy Smith finished in 10th place. Riley Kreisel finished in 11th place, and Kaitlyn Boland completed the field in 12th place.

Next week will be the Dylan Bias Memorial race featuring the Street Stocks racing for added purse. On June 16, the POWRi non wing sprints will be back. On June 23, it will be the Old Timers and Legends night.

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.