News Education Sports Obits Events Contests Classifieds Autos Jobs Search
story.lead_photo.caption Courtesy of Carol WirtsCalifornia’s John Clancy Jr. made it to victory lane in the super stock feature just in time to claim the custom made Hockett Memorial Plaque. Clancy is pictured with his wife and grandson as well as crew members. The Hockett girls and Jesse’s father, Jack, presented the trophy aided by Double X Director A.J. Wirts.

Double X Speedway hosted the ninth annual “Tribute to Jesse” day May 26 in honor of Jesse Hockett.

Joining the three weekly classes were the POWRi WAR Sprint Cars, a concept near and dear to Hockett. Leading off the heat races were the Super Stocks.

Joe Miller, of Centertown, picked up the win after he outdueled John Clancy to the checkered flag. John Brooks finished third, Mark Davis finished fourth, and Brandon Hays completed the top five. Kyler Girard finished in sixth place, Rick Girard finished in seventh place, and Dale Berry finished in eighth place.

In the Hobby Stock division, Kyle Smith picked up the win over Mike Schrader. Jeremiah Wallingford finished in third, Chuck Coffey fourth, and Dakota Girard fifth. John Canada was unable to make the starting grid.

In the Winged Sprint Car heat race No. 1, Taylor Walton finsihed first and Tyler Blank finished second. Tyler Utz was third, Mike Trent fourth and Nathan Ryun fifth. The second heat race saw Quinton Benson pick up the win. Randy Martin used a last-lap pass to claim second, Mackenzie Borchers was third in the Ben Brown 49B, and Riley Kreisel completed the finishing order.

In POWRi WAR Sprint Car action, three heat races set the feature event lineup. The first heat saw Wesley Smith pick up the win in the Helm Racing No. 12 machine, Kaitlin Leer finished in second place, Joe B. Miller claimed third, Chris Morgan finished in fourth, and Neal Matuska was fifth. Broc Elliott finished in sixth place, and Chris Parkinson finished in seventh. Elliott and Parkinson provided some excitement as they tangled after the checkered flag; both drivers were OK after the tumble.

In the second heat, Jack Wagner picked up the victory in the JHR No. 77. Riley Kreisel finished in second, and Samuel Wagner finished in third. Brian Beebe finished in fourth place, and Slater Helt finished in fifth place. Beebe and Helt got together in turn four while racing for the checkered flag. Again, both drivers walked away from the incident.

The third heat saw Quinton Benson score a decisive victory over Brad Wyatt, who finished in second, and Kory Schudy, who finished in third place. Korey Weyant finished in fourth place, Braydon Cromwell in fifith, and Jason Billups in sixth.

Feature event time on the Double X oval provides some close racing and the Super Stocks did not disappoint. Joe Miller and John Clancy Jr. were side by side on the front row and pretty much raced that way for 15 laps. Clancy maintained a slim advantage with Miller right on his rear bumper for 14¾ laps. In turns three and four on the final lap, Miller tried the high line and Clancy had the same idea, when Miller checked up he spun, ending a good run as the checkered came out over the No. 8 of Clancy. John Brooks from Warrensburg finished in second place, Mark Davis third, Brandon Hays fourth and Kyler Girard fifth. Miller was credited with sixth place and Rick Girard seventh. Dale Berry was unable to make the starting grid.

In the Hobby Stock feature, Kyle Smith picked up win No. 2 on the 2019 season. It was a special victory, as Smith and Jesse Hockett were friends since childhood and Jack Hockett remarked in victory lane how special the win was for his family as well as Smith. Chuck Coffey finished in second place, Dakota Girard third, Jeremiah Wallingford fourth, and John Canada fifth. Mike Schrader was initially third but was disqualified for a technical infraction during post-race inspection.

The Winged Sprint Car Feature saw Tyler Blank have to pass the leader twice to pick up win No. 3 on the season. The first pass was negated by a caution flag relegating Blank to second behind leader Taylor Walton. On the restart Blanks JR1 Chassis passed Walton one more time, this time for keeps as he collected feature win No. 3 on the season at Double X. Walton finished in second place, Riley Kreisel third with only a handful of winged sprint car starts to his credit, Quinton Benson fourth and Randy Martin fifth. Tyler Utz finished sixth, Mike Trent seventh, Kaitlyn Boland eighth, Mackenzie Borchers ninth, Nathan Ryun 10th and Broc Elliott 11th.

The headline division on the card was the POWRi WAR Sprint Cars with the final feature event of the evening. Brad Wyatt and Quinton Benson led the field to the green in the marquee event. Benson moved out to the early lead. Wesley Smith moved into second and moved to the rear bumper of the leader when the caution flew with seven laps in the books for Samuel Wagner and Brian Beebe. On the restart Benson continued to lead with Smith giving chase. Tyler Blank started at the rear of the field and was knocking on the top 1o on the restart. On the restart Smith held off Riley Kreisel then set his sights on Benson. The two danced around the oval high and low until Smith was made the pass on the low side of the back stretch. Benson settled into second with Joe B. Miller in third. Riley Kreisel, Korey Weyant and Jack Wagner were all racing hard for position behind the leaders. At the checkered flag it was Smith picking up the win. Miller came across in second place, Quinton Benson held on for third, Jack Wagner was fourth, and Korey Weyant finished in fifth. Kaitlyn Leer finished sixth, Riley Kreisel seventh, Kory Schudy eighth, Tyler Blank ninth, and Chris Morgan 10th.

Next Sunday night, the B Mods will invade the confines of Double X Speedway. USRA rules will be in place for technical issues. The feature event will pay $500 to win in the B Mods. Winged Sprint Cars, Super Stocks and Hobby Stocks will be on the card, too. For up-to-date information, visit

COMMENTS - It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which isn't compatible with our commenting system. You can join the discussion by using another browser, like Firefox or Google Chrome.
It looks like you're using Microsoft Edge. Our commenting system is more compatible with Firefox and Google Chrome.