Gerhart wins re-election, one new face for School Board

With election results now certified, incumbent California Mayor Gerhart has won re-election and one new face will be on the California School Board.

The turnout of 23.52 percent of the voters in Moniteau County in the municipal election Tuesday, April 5, was higher than seen in many municipal elections, possibly because of the number of candidates in school board races and a three-way race for California Mayor. Out of 9,044 registered voters in the county, 2,127 showed up at the polls to cast votes.

Calfornia Contested Races

City of California Mayor

Winner Norris G. Gerhart (incumbent), with 547 votes, to 240 for Charles E. Roll and 29 for Kathi Swearingen.

Moniteau County R-I School Board, California

Winners are Steven Burger, with 535 votes, Craig Ash, with 505 votes and Darryl Elliott with 432 votes. Mike Lutz, with 400 votes, came in a close third, followed by Jeremy Burger, 366, Tammy Roberts, 357, Keith Jones, 290, Nathan Dalbey, 244, Scott Sapp, 55, and five write-in votes.

For more of this story check out the April 13 issue of the California Democrat.


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

| California Democrat>