Moniteau County SWCD awards presented

At the Moniteau County Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD) annual awards dinner Tuesday, March 29, at the California United Church of Christ facility, recognition was given to 2011 poster contest winners, area residents, employees and board members.

The overall winners of the poster contest were fifth grader Tara Payne, Tipton, and sixth grader Paige Robb, Jamestown.

The 2010 Cooperator of the Year award was presented to John Clay, of Clay Farms near Lupus. The farm was originally settled in 1816 by Jeremiah Clay on a land grant signed by President John Quincy Adams.

The 2010 Teacher of the Year award was presented to the teachers of Latham School. After the school building burned on Dec. 15, 2010, school was held at the Pilot Grove Baptist Church facility for two months until portable classrooms were brought onto the school grounds and occupied by the teachers and students on Feb. 28, 2011.

Will Dietzel was recognized for eight years of service on the Moniteau County SWCD Board of Supervisors.

(For more of this story check out the April 5, 2011, issue of the California Democrat.)


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Please review our Policies and Procedures before registering or commenting

| California Democrat>