California, MO 74° View Live Radar Thu H 18° L 7° Fri H 24° L 9° Sat H 34° L 29° Weather Sponsored By:

Becker and Bestgen new to the Tipton school board

Becker and Bestgen new to the Tipton school board

April 24th, 2014 in News

The new Tipton R-VI School Board members were sworn in at the regular monthly meeting, Monday, April 14, and the board reorganized. New members are Donnie Becker and Sarah Bestgen. Nancy Bookout returns as she was re-elected for another term.

The board was reorganized with Greg Miller as president and Bookout as vice president. Lori Combs was elected secretary and Lisa Bixler, treasurer.

Certificates of Appreciation for service on the board were presented to outgoing members Chris Allee and Jerry Garber. Under unfinished business, the board approved the elementary curriculum as presented. Under new business, the board took a first look at the junior high / high school curriculums. The board plans to approve them in May.

The board approved a memorial donation from the family of board of education director Ken Stover in honor of their son Chad. A memorial sign will placed at the school entrance. Elementary Principal Kelly Kohler reported current enrollment for k-6 at 287. The attendance rate for March was 96.85 percent. Junior High Principal Andy Turner reported enrollment at 83, with 97.46 percent attendance for March. There are three in the band from St. Andrews. High School Principal Ellen Allee reported enrollment at 210, with attendance at 96.71 percent for March. Superintendent Scott Jarvis presented a brief update on Common Core as well as other items which might affect state funding.